Stroll down the hill and across the old tennis court behind the Studio to the path entering the garden portion of the East Meadows. In the late 1980’s/early 1990’s Historic Yellow Springs reconstructed the “Oriental Bog Gardens” originally installed in the 1920’s to provide inspiration and subject matter for students at the Country School. The restoration of two historic springhouses was also part of the project.
The 1830’s Jenny Lind Springhouse was named after a visit from the “Swedish Nightingale” in 1850. Legend has it that she was lowered into the pool on a swing during a private bathing session.
The Crystal Diamond Springhouse, c. 1840, houses a magnesium spring whose waters are crystal clear and sparkle like diamonds. It has a unique diamond shaped pool as well as a diamond shaped opening in the roof. The interior of both springhouses can be viewed through openwork iron doors. A wood chip path leads you through the lush gardens.
“Of the various watering places and rural retreats which invite the languid, the listless, or the laborious citizen to invigorate his system, to relax from the fatigues of business, or to restore his declining health, none certainly combines so many advantages as this delightful spot. Its proximity to the city, the salubrity of the air, the purity of the water, the coldness and clearness of the bath, the fertility of the soil, and the variegated scenery which surrounds it, all conspire to charm the senses, and to sooth, and exhilarate the mind.”
From a series on American Scenery in The Port Folio, 1810